Reviews

8.5
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.8
Comfort
8.7
Property location
7.4
Facilities
8.5
Staff
9.2
Value
8.4

Reviews

    au

    Review score

    10
    18 October 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Françoise
    fr

    Review score

    10
    17 October 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    il

    Review score

    9.6
    13 October 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Terry
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    12 October 2018
    Nothing
    We loved the ryokan experience. We loved the dinner and the breakfast as being an authentic Japanese experience. The onsen was great and it was a great introduction to the onsen experience. While the ryokan is not close to the centre the staff picked us up from the station and dropped us off at the castle. There are also good walking tracks close by.
    Adam
    pl

    Review score

    9.2
    2 October 2018

    Very nice staff and great hot baths

    The hotel is a bit far from a train station in Matsumoto. However, they have a shuttle service at 10 am. So one way you can reach city centre quickly.
    We arrived very late, but the lady from hostel waited specially for us. Also, she kept hot bath opened a bit longer so we could use it. In general, all ryokan workers were very friendly. The breakfast served at mornings was very yummy and on-site hot baths are very nice to relax.
    Laura
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    26 September 2018

    Nice traditional Japanese place

    Staff were friendly and there was one woman who spoke good English and did all our communication. Our room was clean and spacious and had lots of nice extras. It was also comfortable and we had our own toilet but no shower. And here is the only thing to be aware of... when they say shared bathroom it is very shared... The place has nice hot springs that all guests can use and the showers are located here and there is no privacy. It is part of the Japanese public bathing culture and once I got over my initial reservation it was fine, but just something to be aware of. Breakfast was nice, traditional Japanese food and a nice selection. The location is nice but a bit far from the centre so be aware you will need to get a bus or taxi. Definitely try the sushi restaurant just a couple of minutes walk away, it's delicious. We really liked matsumoto, worth a couple of days if you have time and like art and crafts.
    Clive Poole
    jp

    Review score

    9.6
    12 September 2018

    Would definitely go back!

    Says cannot accommodate children. We had a screaming little one next to us during breakfast :(
    Everything about the place.
    marjan van der Burg
    nl

    Review score

    9.6
    6 September 2018
    Not in center
    Bathing conditions
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    25 August 2018

    Traditional feel at ryokan at the edge of Matsumoto city

    Once there it turns out that you can chose different size half board - that would be good to know beforehand as it was rather large and I felt I could not enjoy the last dishes. This was a bit tricky to explain as the staff available at the time did not speak much English at all. All the information in the rooms booklet was in Japanese - having spent several days in Matsumoto area and gotten several English leaflets it would be easy to have some English copies as well. Also it would be good to advice people that the ryokan runs a shuttle to the station at 10:00 and a pickup from the station at 14:30 if booked in advance. The location offers a nice view back to Matsumoto but if relying on public transport then you will be bound by the times of the 30/31 bus line (every 30mins, takes about 20mins, 340yen to station) - again that would be helpful to tell guests if they arrive by train.
    I absolutely loved the traditional feel of this ryokan. I stayed in one of the Japanese style rooms with wooden beams and tatami mats and view to the garden and front of the hotel. From sitting at my table in my provided yukata on the floor all I could see were wooden beams and pine trees. The onsite Onsen was very nice with lovely smelling products to wash and a small but nice outside area. I had the half board option and the quality of the food was superb. The staff were very helpful however the language barrier sometimes was difficult. If I was in the area again I would definitely visit this ryokan again - the stay here was a highlight of my trip to Japan. Thank you very much for looking after me.
    Yeu-Kuang
    tw

    Review score

    8.8
    15 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jmweneky
    fr

    Review score

    10
    12 July 2018
    An affordable ryokan experience on the edge of Matsumoto, in 2018 where hotel competition never went so ugly, and each city in the world saw number of properties multiplied by 20 or more without reasons. So it is hard to make a choice from internet where nothing can be trusted. I went there for a wedding and it was a good rest. The onsen bath was perfect. Thank you.
    Catherine
    ca

    Review score

    10
    12 July 2018

    Traditional ryokan with on-site onsen, and excellent food and service, go visit Matsumoto Castle!

    Matsumoto is undergoing important road repairs and traffic can be heavy - try driving to Tsuki no Shizuka outside morning and late afternoon road congestion.
    Perfect Japanese style ryokan with American style double bed, super comfy, great hospitality, you are welcomed by helpful personnel who will take charge of parking your car, showing you the on-site onsen (Japanese baths) and your room, with all amenities to enjoy your stay. Tea is ready in your room when you arrive. Massage equipment free to use, nice boutique for souvenirs. Local restaurants at short distance walk, try the Izakaya!
    Phattranit
    th

    Review score

    9.6
    12 July 2018
    The staffs were extremely helpful and nice! The room was really nice!
    HWL
    hk

    Review score

    9.2
    16 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Lennaert Vanhee
    be

    Review score

    7.9
    27 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Christina
    ca

    Review score

    7.9
    28 April 2018
    Hallway and stairway carpet seem outdated and not clean
    Rooms were clean and comfortable Breakfast was outstanding!
    kobir
    il

    Review score

    9.6
    26 April 2018

    An amazing experience

    The breakfast, the spa, the staff, the hotel facilities
    Traditional Japanese, amazing hospitality, excellent experience
    doron
    il

    Review score

    9.6
    7 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jiri
    cz

    Review score

    9.2
    21 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Frederik
    be

    Review score

    5.0
    11 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews